You are here

Health and Social Care

Course requirements 

English Literature, English Language and either combined Science or Biology (as applicable) at GCSE level 4 or above. 

Note: There is an option for students to study a one year programme which is the equivalent to one AS Level in terms of size. This is called the Level 3 Cambridge Technical Certificate in Health and Social Care and will consist of 180 GLH. Students will study the first 3 mandatory units mentioned below.

Course description 

Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate Level 3 in Health and Social Care . This is the equivalent to one A Level in terms of size and constitutes to 360 Guided Learning Hours (GLH). Students will study four mandatory units totalling 270 GLH and Academy chosen optional units totalling a minimum of 90 GLH.


You will study the following 4 mandatory units:

  • Unit 1: Building positive relationships in health and social care - Internally Assessed - 60 GLH
  • Unit 2: Equality, diversity and rights in health and social care - Externally Assessed - 60 GLH
  • Unit 3: Health, safety and security in health and social care - Externally Assessed - 60 GLH
  • Unit 4: Anatomy and physiology for health and social care - Externally Assessed - 90 GLH The mandatory content contributes to 75% of the qualification grade.

You will then study the following optional units:

  • Unit 10: Nutrition for health - Internally Assessed - 30 GLH
  • Unit 13: Sexual health, reproduction and early child development - 60GLH

The optional content contributes to 25% of the qualification grade.


This qualification is for students who want to study health science, social care or childcare. This qualification isn’t just about caring for babies or the elderly and the ill; it will provide learners with the skills, knowledge and understanding to progress into Higher Education on a health and social carerelated programme such as Health and Social Care, Nursing, Social Work or Early Childhood Studies.